Leaving the Scene of a DUI Accident in Miami
Leaving the Scene of an Accident that You Didn't Cause
Florida has several statutes outlawing the act of leaving the scene of
an accident. First of all, Florida Statute § 316.062 states that
it is a driver's duty to give information and render aid. Failure
to observe this law after causing or being involved in an accident can
penalized as a felony.
Florida Statute § 316.027 requires all persons involved in an accident
that caused death or personal injury to remain at the scene until completing
the aforementioned statutory duties. The same goes for § 316.061,
which applies to accidents involving occupied vehicles or attended property,
as well as § 316.063, which involves damaging an unattended vehicle
Why You Need a DUI Lawyer in Miami
Relating specifically to
DUI accidents, an individual can face a first-degree felony conviction if
they are accused of leaving the scene of a DUI accident without giving
information or rendering aid. The only condition is that they must have
been aware or had reason to be aware that the accident occurred. Felonies
of the first degree can result in a fine of up to $10,000 and may land
you in prison for up to 30 years. Make sure that you have an aggressive
and skilled Miami DUI attorney on your side if you are facing charges.
Contact Our Firm Today
For nearly 50 years combined, our attorneys have defended clients facing
all types of DUI charges. We practice solely in Miami-Dade County and
are thoroughly familiar with the courts, judges, and prosecutors who appear
there regularly. We have also received numerous accolades including an
AV Preeminent® Rating with Martindale-Hubbell® and inclusion in
Florida Super Lawyers® each year since 2010.
Justin Beckham and Helmuth Solis were both selected for inclusion in the
2010 list of
Florida Super Lawyers® Rising Stars℠, as well.
Contact our firm right away for the capable defense that you need when facing serious charges
of a felony DUI.