The state of Florida imposes harsh penalties for driving under the influence
of alcohol or drugs. In fact, driving is seen as a privilege, not a right.
If you are arrested and convicted of a DUI, you may face fines, possible
jail time, vehicle impoundment, license revocation, mandatory community
service, and license suspension. The penalties increase for repeat convictions.
It is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of
0.08% in Florida. If you are charged with a DUI while driving with a suspended
license, you may face severe consequences that can have long-term negative
impacts on your life. Our firm passionately represents clients in court
against DUI charges, and we can discuss your options and walk you through
Here’s what you need to know about DUI and license suspension penalties
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
Your license may be suspended for a limited time for various reasons. This
includes situations where you are convicted of a DUI, petit theft, DUI
refusal, or drug-related charge. If your license is suspended and you
are caught driving, you will face strict penalties.
If you drive with a suspended license, the penalties include:
- 60 days in jail and a $500 fine for a first offense
- 1 year in jail for a second offense
- 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine for a third offense
Driving with a suspended license can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony,
depending on the situation and whether or not it is a repeat offense.
An experienced criminal defense attorney can work hard to try to lessen
or drop the charges. Common defenses of driving with a suspended license
include proving that you were not driving, were not aware of the license
suspension, or believed the license had been reinstated. Our firm has
nearly 50 years of combined experience and has represented more than a
thousand DUI cases. We can discuss your options, build your case, and
provide thorough legal services from start to finish.
Penalties for a DUI with a Suspended License
While the penalties for driving with a suspended license are severe, the
penalties for a DUI conviction while driving with a suspended license
are even greater. You will face both administrative and criminal penalties.
It is important to seek the help of experienced criminal defense lawyer
to understand your options and uphold your rights in court.
Penalties for a DUI conviction with a suspended license include:
- License revocation of up to 10 years with no hardship available
- Possible DUI program and fees
- Up to $2,000 fine
- Prison sentence of up to 5 years
- Vehicle impoundment
- Possible ignition interlock device installment
These penalties vary with each situation and depend on whether or not the
charge is a repeat offense. An ignition interlock device may be required
if you are granted a restricted license. The device is attached to your
vehicle, and requires you to administer a breathalyzer test every time
you drive. If your BAC is more than 0.025%, the car will not start. Furthermore,
it may require you to take random tests while driving. You would need
to blow into it when the alarm sounds to check the status of your BAC.
Seek a Favorable Outcome with the Help of Our Attorneys
At Beckham Solis, Attorneys at Law, we have guided hundreds of clients
through the Florida legal system. Whether you have been charged with driving
with a suspended license or have been arrested for a DUI with a suspended
license, our knowledgeable Miami criminal defense lawyers can help. We
can investigate the incident, gather evidence, and represent your case
in court. We have a thorough knowledge of state and federal DUI laws,
and can use a variety of defense strategies for your case as you seek
a beneficial outcome.
Contact us today to schedule a free consultation. We offer Spanish speaking services
and 24/7 availability for your convenience.