Miami Manslaughter Defense Lawyers
Understanding Manslaughter Laws in Florida
Manslaughter is an offense that results in the killing of another human being but does not meet the requirements that define murder. Florida distinguishes between two different manslaughter charges.
A manslaughter charge will either be considered voluntary or involuntary:
- Voluntary manslaughter refers to the intentional act of performing homicide in a moment of heated passion.
- Involuntary manslaughter refers to acts of negligence. Culpable negligence refers to a lack of reverence for human life while engaging in reckless behavior.
Defenses to Manslaughter Charges
Florida establishes manslaughter as a 2nd degree felony. If convicted of manslaughter, you can face incarceration for a maximum of 15 years as well as a fine of $10,000. For manslaughter charges that include aggravating factors, the charge will be treated as a 1st degree felony. Prior to a conviction, the state must assess whether the alleged offender has a criminal background.
Justifiable use of a deadly force for the purpose of defense may be a defense option. If it can be proven that you acted in defense against a felony offense that was committed against a person or property, we might be able to use this approach to your case.
Another defense option is that of excusable homicide committed by accident. In an involuntary manslaughter case, the defendant may be able to prove that he or she was not acting in a manner that should qualify as culpable negligence.
Aggressive Advocacy from Beckham Solis, Attorneys at Law
If you have been charged with voluntary or involuntary manslaughter in Miami-Dade, discuss your case with one of our highly experienced criminal defense lawyers. Take action at once to maximize your chance of reducing charges.
During a free case evaluation, we can discuss the defense options that may be available for your case. Call our Miami manslaughter defense attorneys at (305) 290-1884 today.