DUI Penalties Over 900 DUI Cases Dismissed Since 2007

Penalties in a Miami DUI Case

I've been arrested for DUI. What penalties am I facing?

Driving is a privilege in Florida, not a right. In order to be granted a driver's license, a person must first take a test and prove that they are knowledgeable and responsible enough to operate a motor vehicle.

Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is considered proof that a person no longer deserves to have the privilege of driving. That is why the penalties for DUI can be very harsh, including:

  • Fines
  • License suspension
  • Possible jail time
  • License revocation

What Are the Penalties for DUI in Florida?

First DUI Offense Penalties
  • Fine of $500 - $1,000
  • Jail sentence of up to 6 months or probation for up to a year
  • Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional $10 fine for each hour of community service required
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
  • License revocation for a minimum of 6 months
DUI with Minor First Offense Penalties
  • Fine of $1,000 - $2,000
  • Up to 9 months
Second DUI Offense Penalties
  • Fine of $1,000 - $2,000
  • Jail sentence of up to 9 months
  • Minimum sentence of 10 days if convicted within 5 years of a first offense
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • License revocation for a minimum of 6 months
    • 5-year revocation if convicted within 5 years of a first offense
DUI with Minor Second Offense Penalties
  • Fine of $2,000 - $4,000
  • Up to 12 months (if it's been 5 years since last conviction)
Third DUI Offense Penalties
  • Fine of $1,000 - $2,500
  • Fine of $2,000 - $5,000 if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
  • Jail sentence of up to 12 months
  • Minimum sentence of 30 days if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
  • License revocation for 5 years
    • 10-year revocation if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
DUI with Minor Third Offense Penalties
  • Minimum fine of $4,000
Fourth DUI Offense Penalties
  • Minimum fine of $1,000
  • Jail sentence of up to 5 years
  • Mandatory permanent license revocation (not eligible for hardship license)

Fight for Freedom from Your DUI Penalties in Miami

Speak with Beckham Solis, Attorneys at Law today and learn how we can help you avoid the penalties of a DUI conviction. Whether this is your first DUI defense case or you have been convicted before, our attorneys can help. We have taken hundreds of cases to trial and can fight aggressively for a reduction of your charges or the dismissal of your case.

Our firm is also highly recognized for its excellence - we have an A+ rating with the BBB®, are AV® Rated by Martindale-Hubbell®, and are members of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers.

Contact us today to set up your free case evaluation. We have handled DUI cases in Miami-Dade County for over 60 years combined and we are here for you!

Unprecedented Results

Recent Case Results
  • The State DISMISSED the DUI Case: 6851-XEX | 2016
  • The State DROPPED the DUI Case: 6319-XEM | 2016
  • The State DROPPED the DUI Case: A3PVO1E | 2018
  • The State DROPPED the DUI Case: 0876043J | 2016
  • The State DROPPED the DUI Case: 1735XCF | 2017
  • The State DROPPED the DUI Case: A3PVJ7E | 2018
  • The State DROPPED the DUI CASE: 4255-GYU | 2014
  • The State DROPPED the DUI Case: 4560XEV | 2012
  • The State DROPPED the DUI and DISMISSED All Charges Case 6603-XEE | 2010
  • The State DISMISSED the DUI Case: A0Z14YP | 2017
/

Arrested? Charged with a Crime? 

Don't Wait to Secure Your Defense - We're Available 24/7
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.