DUI Manslaughter Lawyer Miami
Defining DUI Manslaughter in Florida
In the state of Florida, anyone who drives under the influence of alcohol and causes an accident that results in someone's death can be charged with DUI manslaughter. Even though the fatality was not intentional, the death of the innocent victim was the direct result of the intoxicated driver's negligence; therefore, the drunk driver is guilty of manslaughter.
DUI manslaughter is a second-degree felony. As such, the penalties includes a fine of up to $10,000 and / or 15 years in prison. If the intoxicated driver knew or should have known that the accident occurred and yet they failed to give information and render aid, it is a first-degree felony. The penalties for a first-degree felony include a fine of up to $10,000 and / or 30 years in prison.
Fighting Charges of DUI Manslaughter in FL
At Beckham Solis, Attorneys at Law, our attorneys can fight your charges from any number of angles. Perhaps you were not intoxicated and were the victim of police misconduct or a faulty breath test. Maybe the accident was the result of the other driver's negligence. Our legal team will study your case in detail in order to build a strong defense and will fight tirelessly against your serious charges of DUI manslaughter. Our lawyers have taken more than 100 cases to trial and have more than 35+ years of combined experience in DUI defense to draw from for your benefit.
Speak with a DUI Manslaughter Attorney in Miami
Our legal team handles nothing but DUI defense, and only in Miami-Dade County. This means that we are thoroughly familiar with the local courts and are well known by the judges and prosecutors who are there on a regular basis. We have extensive courtroom experience and are skilled trial lawyers. Our firm has achieved outstanding success over the years.