Leaving the Scene of a DUI Accident in Miami
Leaving the Scene of an Accident that You Didn't Cause
Florida has several statutes outlawing the act of leaving the scene of an accident. First of all, Florida Statute § 316.062 states that it is a driver's duty to give information and render aid. Failure to observe this law after causing or being involved in an accident can penalized as a felony.
Florida Statute § 316.027 requires all persons involved in an accident that caused death or personal injury to remain at the scene until completing the aforementioned statutory duties. The same goes for § 316.061, which applies to accidents involving occupied vehicles or attended property, as well as § 316.063, which involves damaging an unattended vehicle or property.
Call our team at (305) 290-1884 to start building your case.
Why You Need a DUI Lawyer in Miami
Relating specifically to DUI accidents, an individual can face a first-degree felony conviction if they are accused of leaving the scene of a DUI accident without giving information or rendering aid. The only condition is that they must have been aware or had reason to be aware that the accident occurred. Felonies of the first degree can result in a fine of up to $10,000 and may land you in prison for up to 30 years. Make sure that you have an aggressive and skilled Miami DUI attorney on your side if you are facing charges.
Contact Our Firm Today
For over 60 years combined, our attorneys have defended clients facing all types of DUI charges. We practice solely in Miami-Dade County and are thoroughly familiar with the courts, judges, and prosecutors who appear there regularly. We have also received numerous accolades including an AV Preeminent® Rating with Martindale-Hubbell® and inclusion in Florida Super Lawyers® each year since 2010.
Justin Beckham and Helmuth Solis were both selected for inclusion in the 2010 list of Florida Super Lawyers®, as well. Contact our firm right away for the capable defense that you need when facing serious charges of a felony DUI.